1. Introduction to the XT60i Connector
Direct current (DC) power systems commonly rely on compact, polarized connectors to transfer power between batteries, solar panels, and charging equipment. While the classic two-pole XT60 is widely used in high-current DC applications, modern portable power stations and charging systems increasingly incorporate a specialized variant: the XT60i connector.
At first glance, the XT60i resembles the standard XT60 housing, but it incorporates a key structural difference: a third, centralized contact. Rather than providing primary power terminals alone, the XT60i integrates:
- Two primary DC power terminals;
- One dedicated auxiliary/signal contact positioned between the power terminals.
This configuration provides a combined power and auxiliary/signal interface. The connector manufacturer, Changzhou AMASS Electronics Co., Ltd., supplies the physical “2+1PIN” hardware interface; the specific identification or sensing functions assigned to that auxiliary contact are determined by the equipment manufacturer implementing the connector.
2. Physical Architecture and Documented Specifications
The physical layout of the XT60i is designed around a hybrid terminal configuration, officially designated in manufacturer documentation as a 2+1PIN architecture.
AMASS XT60I-F Technical Specifications
Official manufacturer documentation for the female cable-mount connector (XT60I-F, specification version 2022V2) establishes the following baseline parameters:
- Contact Configuration: 2 power contacts + 1 center auxiliary/signal contact (2+1PIN).
- Current Rating: 35 A MAX with 12 AWG under the documented temperature-rise condition Δ < 85°C.
- Signal Pin Rating: 1 A.
- Voltage: 600 V DC.
- Insulation Resistance: ≥ 2000 MΩ.
- Contact Resistance: ≤ 1.0 mΩ.
- Power Conductor Compatibility: 12 AWG maximum wire specification.
- Housing Material: Polyamide (PA / Nylon, Orange), rated for flammability under UL94 V-0 (wall thickness 0.8 mm).
- Contact Metallurgy: Copper alloy with gold plating (gilding).
- Operating Temperature: -20°C to +120°C.
- Protection Level: IP40.
- Mechanical Endurance: 100 mating cycles.
- Salt Spray: 48 hours.
Note: These electrical and mechanical specifications apply specifically to the documented AMASS XT60I-F part number and must not be generalized automatically across unverified variants or third-party copies.
3. Physical Relationship: Classic XT60 vs. XT60i
Understanding how the XT60i relates to the classic XT60 requires distinguishing between physical geometry and functional behavior.
Dimensional Comparison
Based on engineering drawings (qualified dimensional comparison):
- Housing Profile: Both connectors utilize an asymmetrical nylon housing with chamfered corners to establish mechanical polarization.
- Power Contact Pitch: The center-to-center spacing and diameter of the primary power contacts align between the two designs.
- Auxiliary Location: The XT60i places its auxiliary contact in the center region between the positive and negative power terminals.
Engineering Boundary: Alignment vs. Functional Equivalence
While engineering drawings show dimensional alignment between the primary power terminals of classic XT60 and XT60i connectors (qualified dimensional comparison):
- Physical dimensional alignment does not establish a manufacturer-certified interoperability guarantee. AMASS documentation does not publish a blanket universal intermateability declaration between standard XT60 and XT60I components.
- Dimensional similarity does not establish functional equivalence. Equipment that uses the auxiliary contact for identification or sensing may behave differently when connected to a standard two-pin cable where that auxiliary contact is not available.
4. Purpose of the Auxiliary Contact: Hardware vs. Implementation
The additional contact gives equipment manufacturers an auxiliary electrical path that can be used for equipment-specific identification or sensing functions.
It is necessary to maintain a clear boundary between:
- Connector Hardware (AMASS): Provides the mechanical shell and conductive interface (two power contacts plus one auxiliary contact rated at 1 A).
- Equipment Implementation (Power Station Manufacturers): Determines the electrical role of the auxiliary contact within the attached device’s charging circuitry.
The reviewed AMASS specification describes the XT60I-F as an electromechanical 2+1PIN interface and does not document onboard switching logic or firmware.
5. Practical Implementation: EcoFlow DELTA 2
A documented real-world implementation of the XT60i interface appears in portable power stations, such as the EcoFlow DELTA 2.
Model-Specific DELTA 2 Operating Parameters
According to the official user manual, the DELTA 2 features an integrated DC input port with the following documented specifications:
- Solar Charging Input: 11–60 V DC, 15 A maximum, 500 W maximum.
- Car Charging Input: Supports 12 V / 24 V battery input with a default current limit of 8 A.
Cable-Dependent Recognition
EcoFlow documents automatic current recognition between car charging and solar input in its charging implementation:
- Car Charging Mode: EcoFlow documents automatic current recognition for the car-charging configuration, with a maximum/default 8 A car-charging limit, and describes the implementation as protection against vehicle current overload.
- Solar Charging Mode: The DELTA 2 solar input is rated up to 15 A. EcoFlow offers an official Solar to XT60i Charging Cable and lists the DELTA 2 among the intended models.
Source Boundary: EcoFlow documentation confirms cable-dependent automatic current recognition and an 8 A car-charging limit by default on specified models; the exact electrical sensing state of the center contact is not disclosed in the reviewed official documentation.
6. Documented Parameters Summary
| Parameter / Feature | AMASS XT60I-F Specification | EcoFlow DELTA 2 Input Port |
|---|---|---|
| Contact Configuration | 2+1PIN (2 Power + 1 Auxiliary) | Integrated DC Input Port |
| Current Rating | 35 A MAX (12 AWG, Δ < 85°C) | 15 A max solar / 8 A default car |
| Signal Pin Rating | 1 A | Cable-dependent automatic current recognition documented; exact center-contact sensing mechanism not disclosed |
| Voltage | 600 V DC | 11–60 V DC (Solar window) |
| Power Conductor Support | 12 AWG maximum solder cup | Chassis-mounted equipment port |
| Operating Temperature | -20°C to +120°C | Specified per equipment manual |
| Protection Level | IP40 | Equipment enclosure rating |
| Mechanical Endurance | 100 mating cycles | Specified per equipment manual |
| Salt Spray | 48 hours | Specified per equipment manual |
7. Practical Implementation: EcoFlow DELTA Pro
The EcoFlow DELTA Pro provides a second documented real-world implementation illustrating how equipment manufacturers integrate DC charging ports into higher-capacity power systems.
+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| ECOFLOW DELTA PRO DOCUMENTED INPUT MODES |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| Solar Input Mode: 11–150 V DC | Max 15 A | Max 1,600 W |
| |
| Car Charging Mode: 12 V / 24 V Battery | Default 8 A Limit |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+
Model-Specific DELTA Pro Operating Parameters
According to the official user manual, the DELTA Pro incorporates a dedicated DC input interface with the following documented specifications:
- Solar Charging Input: 11–150 V DC, 15 A maximum, 1,600 W maximum.
- Car Charging Input: Supports 12 V / 24 V battery input with a default current limit of 8 A.
Equipment Input Limits vs. Connector Component Ratings
The DELTA Pro illustrates why component-level connector ratings must not be confused with the operating limits of the attached power station:
- The AMASS XT60I-F specification documents a rated current of 35 A MAX under the stated 12 AWG / Δ < 85°C condition.
- The EcoFlow DELTA Pro input specification establishes a maximum solar charging current of 15 A.
The fact that the AMASS XT60I-F specification documents a rated current of 35 A MAX under its stated test condition does not mean an attached DELTA Pro will accept 35 A of solar input. The power station’s documented input limits determine the maximum permitted charging current for that input.
8. Troubleshooting: Why a Power Station May Charge at 8 A Instead of Expected Solar Current
Why is my EcoFlow charging at 8 A?
On the DELTA 2 and DELTA Pro, EcoFlow documents an 8 A default car-charging limit. If 8 A is observed when solar charging was expected, first verify the correct model-supported solar cable and input configuration. Other system or environmental conditions can also reduce available solar charging power.
EcoFlow documentation establishes the following operational parameters:
- EcoFlow documents automatic current recognition between car charging and solar input configurations.
- On documented models such as the DELTA 2 and DELTA Pro, car charging is limited to 8 A by default.
- Solar charging on these models permits up to 15 A, subject to the unit’s documented voltage, current, and wattage limits.
If an EcoFlow unit operates at the documented 8 A car-charging current limit when a higher solar charging rate was expected, verify that the cable and accessory are the correct manufacturer-supported type for that model before assuming a fault with the solar panels or power station.
Source Boundary: While EcoFlow documentation confirms cable-dependent automatic current recognition and an 8 A car-charging limit by default on specified models, the exact internal electrical sensing state of the center auxiliary contact is not disclosed in the reviewed official manufacturer documentation.
9. XT60 vs. XT60i in a Sensing-Enabled Port
What is the difference between XT60 and XT60i?
A classic XT60 connector provides only two primary power contacts (positive and negative). An XT60i connector provides the two primary power contacts plus an auxiliary center contact.
Physical Fit vs. Functional Equivalence
- Physical Interface: Dimensional drawings indicate alignment between the primary power contacts of classic XT60 and XT60I connectors (qualified dimensional comparison). However, AMASS has not published a reviewed blanket universal intermateability guarantee.
- Functional Distinction: A standard two-contact XT60 does not provide the additional auxiliary contact present on the XT60i. Equipment that relies on that additional contact for an equipment-specific function may therefore not provide identical functionality when only the two primary power contacts are available.
The exact electrical response to the absent auxiliary contact depends on the equipment implementation and is not disclosed in the reviewed EcoFlow documentation.
10. Cable Selection for EcoFlow Systems
To maintain compatibility with its automatic current recognition implementation, EcoFlow offers dedicated cable accessories for its portable power stations:
- EcoFlow Solar to XT60i Charging Cable: Designed for connecting standard photovoltaic solar panel leads to the power station’s DC input port.
- EcoFlow Car Charging to XT60i Cable: Designed for 12 V / 24 V vehicle auxiliary power sockets, where EcoFlow documents automatic current recognition and an 8 A maximum/default limit on the documented configuration.
When selecting or configuring cables for an EcoFlow system, users should identify:
- The exact power station model number;
- The documented solar input voltage window (e.g., 11–60 V DC on DELTA 2 vs. 11–150 V DC on DELTA Pro);
- The maximum rated solar input current (15 A on DELTA 2 and DELTA Pro);
- The maximum solar wattage rating (500 W on DELTA 2 vs. 1,600 W on DELTA Pro);
- The correct manufacturer-supported charging cable or accessory.
Safety Note: Users should not modify, short, or alter connector contacts using undocumented wiring or resistor values. Incorrect wiring can create short-circuit, polarity, or equipment-damage risks.
11. Practical Troubleshooting Checklist for Low Solar Input
When solar charging power is lower than expected, follow this systematic verification checklist:
- Verify Power Station Model Specifications: Confirm the exact solar input voltage range, maximum current, and maximum wattage limits in the official user manual.
- Confirm Charging Cable Type: Verify that the cable assembly is an official or fully compatible manufacturer-supported solar cable rather than a standard car-charging accessory.
- Check Open-Circuit Voltage (Voc): Ensure the combined solar panel open-circuit voltage does not exceed the maximum DC input voltage of the power station (e.g., 60 V DC on DELTA 2, 150 V DC on DELTA Pro).
- Check Operating Voltage (Vmp): Confirm that the solar array operating voltage remains within the power station’s documented solar input range (e.g., 11–60 V DC on DELTA 2, 11–150 V DC on DELTA Pro).
- Verify Electrical Polarity: Ensure positive and negative solar array leads match the DC input port polarity before connecting.
- Inspect Mechanical Seating: Verify that connectors are fully seated and inspect for debris, damaged contacts, or visible heat damage.
- Evaluate Available Solar Input: Cloud cover, shading, sun angle, temperature, and other environmental conditions can affect the solar array’s available charging power. Compare actual panel output with the panel manufacturer’s documented specifications and current conditions.
- Check Equipment Display and Messages: Check the power station display/app for any charging limitation, warning, or protection message provided by the equipment itself.
12. Understanding System Ampacity: Connector Rating vs. Equipment Limits
Does the XT60i connector determine charging current?
No. The XT60i connector alone does not determine charging current. The system must operate within the most restrictive applicable limit across the connected equipment, connector, cable/conductors, and other components in the electrical path.
+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| SYSTEM AMPACITY HIERARCHY |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+
| AMASS XT60I-F Specification: 35 A MAX |
| Test condition: 12 AWG / Δ < 85°C |
| |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Input Limit: 15 A MAX (500 W limit) |
| |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro Input Limit: 15 A MAX (1,600 W limit) |
| |
| --> System Operating Current: Governed by the most |
| restrictive applicable limit |
+-------------------------------------------------------------+
To prevent electrical misunderstandings, maintain a strict distinction between component-level ratings and system-level parameters:
- Connector Specification: The AMASS XT60I-F specification documents a rated current of 35 A MAX under the stated 12 AWG / Δ < 85°C condition.
- Power Station Input Limit: The DELTA 2 and DELTA Pro specifications establish a maximum solar input current of 15 A.
- System Operating Rule: System operation must remain within the most restrictive applicable limit in the complete electrical path. The 35 A connector specification does not increase the power station’s 15 A input limit, nor does it override conductor ampacity ratings.